Recovery Meditation #16

Is anyone among you sick? Let them call the elders of the church to pray over them and anoint them with oil in the name of the Lord. James 5:14

If you pray for a miraculous healing, and I believe you should, remember that God sometimes prefers people to work through their problems rather than bailing them out. We all want a miracle when we are sick but we don’t always get exactly what we ask for. Robert Frost wrote: “Hope is not found in a way out but a way through.” I think that is how God often works. He does not solve a particular problem or cure a particular illness on demand; but, he does walk with you through your problem or through your illness. He is there every step of the way. Perhaps we should not pray so much that God would take away our problem but rather pray for God to let us feel his presence during our suffering.

Pray: God heal me. Take my addiction from me. But, if I am to struggle with this longer, let me feel your presence, let me know that you are near. Amen. !

Leave a Reply

