Addiction Meditation #3

For everything in the world–the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does–comes not from the Father but from the world. 1 John 2: 16

Addiction is a worldly disease. It is a self-centered disease. The addict is focused on their own needs. They do not care for others. They often do not even care for themselves. They only care about doing whatever it takes to get their drugs. Addiction is an “I” disease and “i” is at the center of sin.

The cravings of the addict come from this world not from the Father. The addict must turn from lusting for the drug, to thirsting for God. They mist remove their “I” from sin and put it in Christ.

Pray: Dear God, create in my mind and heart a thirst for you so great that it overwhelms my lust for drugs and alcohol. Create in me a thirst for you that is infinitely greater than my craving for drugs. Teach me to take my “I” out of sIn and put it in ChrIst. Amen.

Leave a Reply

